A Picnic in the Park

I have been looking up different ideas for picnic style food for the Artist and I to take picnics together, and enjoy some sun and fresh air.  We don’t have a backyard or patio, or even a balcony, so picnics and park time are common for us.  I wanted to bring more then just snacks for us, and bring really creative, delicious things too.  But time and time again, my research lead me to one key main food that is apparently a classic: fried chicken.  Is this an American thing?  I feel like fried chicken wouldn’t be ideal on a picnic.  It would be greasy, crumbs would be everywhere, and there is lots of bones and stuff to discard somewhere.  Just really messy in general.  But, tradition got the best of me and we brought fried chicken.  I don’t remember the last time I had fried chicken, but let me tell you, it was insanely delicious.  Yes, it was messy.  Yes, it was greasy.  Yes, there were crumbs everywhere.  And yes, we had lots of napkin garbage and bones.  But wow, was it ever good.  I see people eating fried chicken all the time around here.  Picnics, outings, packed in lunches, carrying bags full of take out, and even pulling tupperware out of a bag or purse and eating it while shopping.  But now I understand.  It is just so good.  Seriously, so beautifully delicious.  Actually, it was so good, I was wolfing it down like an animal, and for sure passers by were staring at me in my nice dress, sitting on a blanket in the grass, stuffing my face with chicken.  Although, next time I need prepare for mad sweet cravings that come afterwards, because I couldn’t get my mind off of ice cream.  I definitely need something sweetsy afterwards.  Lesson learned.

DSCN0801 DSCN0802

The Artist grabbed his book afterwards, and settled down to read.

DSCN0811

But I got out some magic bubbles where you can touch them with your hand or have them land on the grass without popping, normal bubbles too of course, and some silly putty.  I couldn’t concentrate on reading just yet, my mind was still going nuts for something sweetsy and we didn’t bring anything, haha! 😉

DSCN0814

The Artist couldn't resist playing with the magic bubbles too ;)

The Artist couldn’t resist playing with the magic bubbles too 😉

DSCN0816 DSCN0824

A bubble landed in my hair!

A bubble landed in my hair!

Silly Putty bracelet.

Silly Putty bracelet.

DSCN0838

Me playing with silly putty, making my newest creation.

Me playing with silly putty, making my newest creation.

A silly putty braid.

A silly putty braid.

A nice fountain, the sound of water is so relaxing.

A nice fountain, the sound of water is so relaxing.

DSCN0804

Gorgeous skies.

Gorgeous skies.

Our setup.

Our setup.

DSCN0834

Tons of bunnies!

Tons of bunnies!

We spent a really long time here, it was a gorgeous afternoon, nice and warm but not so hot that you can’t take a breath of air without feeling faint.  Early dinner, goofing around, and some reading.  It was a really nice time together, and this was just at the park nearby.  It was our first time here, and we have decided that we want to return often.  Even if it is just for an hour to read before the sun goes down.

P.S. The nice, amazing, sweet thing the artist did for me lately: tell me how wonderful I look in a simple dress, sandals, and no makeup on.  Go on a creative rampage and make tons of art while I was out.  And then get excited to show me and tell me all about it when I got home.  The nice, amazing, sweet thing I have done for the artist lately: prepare his coffee for him while he was still sleeping before I left the house, made him an “everything” sandwich for lunch the other day (chicken, bacon, mixed greens, tomato, and mayo, on a warm ciabatta bun), and tell him how much I love his creative rampages and how excited I get to hear all about it upon discovery.

 

P.S. #2- The artist cracks me up.  As I type, he tells me how hungry he just became.

The Artist- I just entered the bad place.

Me- (laughing)

The Artist- What are we doing for dinner?

Me- (laughing)

The Artist- I need to know if you’re with me on this, or I will just end up eating sticks of butter.

Me- (laughing harder)  Just grab something handy so you can get your mind back to think about a meal.

The Artist- I need to eat something huge.  (flops on the couch in a hunger coma)

I can relate, I felt this earlier today when I ate a late lunch.  And I still haven’t recovered.

2 thoughts on “A Picnic in the Park

    • Yay! I’m glad 😀 It is extra funny because you know him personally and can probably picture the scenario. Thanks for commenting, you are my first one 😉

Leave a Reply

