Special Edition Parents Post

Next up on this special edition post, is for my parents.

For Mom…

Remember when I was little and we walked to get the mail every day?

Remember when you used to give me my own section in the garden?

Remember when I got to go with you to the greenhouses to pick out the flowers for the flowers beds?

Remember how I then did not help you plant them, or weed the garden? LOL!

Remember how I ate tons of goldfish crackers from that giant Costco carton?

Remember when you would make be Alphaghetti to take to school for lunch in those old, strange coloured thermoses?

Remember all those Saturday mornings you drove to me to skating?

Remember all those rides you gave me for before school band practice?

Remember bringing me hot lunches when I worked at Fernwood?

Remember picking me up from work late at night at the Sovereign, in your pyjamas?

Remember all the times we grocery shopped together when I was little?  And still now, even though I am an adult?

Remember the insane laughter that we seem to have in common, that comes out when you, the Artist, and I are together?  Especially if we are hungry.

Remember helping the Artist and I move?  Many times?  Especially all the way to St. Louis?

Remember when you would buy chocolate chips, but I would always eat them before you got a chance to use them?  I still love to eat them.

Remember when we went to the movies and asked if we could go in just to buy popcorn?

There are a tons more things to say, but you already know them all.  You are my best friend, my go-to guru for anything, and the best mom ever!  People even tell me that I have the best mom, and it is true, I really do.  There are no words to describe how awesome you are.  You are supportive, generous, and so thoughtful.  I am one lucky girl.

(I don’t have any electronic copies of older photos of us, so here are some more recent ones)

mom5 mom4

Berry picking.

Berry picking.

Berry picking.

Berry picking.

Family reunion.

Family reunion.

Camping, notice the burned grilled cheese? Haha!

Camping, notice the burned grilled cheese? Haha!

 

For Dad…

Remember when I was in high school and you were up and heading to work early at 3 or 4am, and  I was still up, talking with a friend?

Remember when I was little and you bought us these little pails filled with homemade chocolates for Valentine’s Day?  Mine was red with a teddy bear, and I still have it.  It is now my bobby pin holder.

Remember every year on my birthday, since you had to leave for work in the wee hours of the morning, you would leave me a birthday note?

Remember when you taught me to place chess and checkers?

Remember when I would cut the grass with you, and you would let me drive the lawn mower?

Remember whenever mom would be out for the evening (usually for hockey purposes), you would order us pizza for dinner, let us rent movies, stay up late, and eat chips?

Remember when bought me a flower after my skating competition?

Remember all the bon fires we had during the summers, and camping in the backyard?

Remember telling me how proud you were of me right before you walked me down the aisle to marry my Artist?

Remember being on the “no danish team” and resisting those delicious pastries during your last visit?

You are very special to me, Dad.  I love our phone conversations, and when we get to visit and spend time together.  You are so supportive and generous, and always willing to help us out with anything.  You said to me when I got married, you “didn’t gain a son-in-law, you gained a son”.  I love that you love the Artist so much, and make great efforts to visit us, even if it means going out of your comfort zone (driving in the big city of Toronto, hauling a trailer with our stuff to America, to name a few).

Cheers to more memories like these.

(again, I don’t have any electronic older photos, just recent ones)

History museum.

History museum.

Out for breakfast for the Artist's birthday.

Out for breakfast for the Artist’s birthday.

Dad and the Artist at the camp fire.

Dad and the Artist at the camp fire.

One thing my dad and I share- a love, and a need for, sleep.

One thing my dad and I share- a love, and a need for, sleep.

Walking me down the aisle to marry my love.

Walking me down the aisle to marry my love.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

