Moments That I Love.

I love our bed, and I love to sleep- it can be a dangerous combination.  It is just so soft and comfy.  Our sheets are soft, my pillow is fluffy, and we have an assortment of cozy blankets for all weather conditions.  I love all things that are soft.  I love blankets, pillows, teddy bears and all other stuffed animals.  I love the blanket section of stores.  I also love soft sweaters, housecoats, and robes.  And I love to be cozy.  There is nothing like waking up and your nose is freezing but you are cozy under the covers.  But the softest, coziest, cuddliest thing I love most- my Artist.  He is always so cozy warm, has the softest, smoothest skin, the nicest hair, and the best smell.  Yes, that is right- the best smell.  When we were first dating, he said to me “this is going to sound really weird, but you smell so good all the time”.  Since then, I began to notice how good he smelled so good all the time.  The combination of just him, plus his hair gel and any other scented things he used, is ultimate perfection.

So getting into a comfy bed at night, with soft sheets, fluffy pillows, cozy blankets, and resting my head on the Artist’s shoulder while he wraps his arms around me and I become engulfed by his huge chest, is a recipe for one of favourite moments.  He usually kisses my forehead, and we chit-chat a little, before surrendering to heavenly feelings of all the senses being pleased at once, and falling asleep.

We watch movies, TV, and the like, in bed, and quite often I fall asleep in the middle of it.  And then the Artist just turns it off and reads when he discovers me asleep on his arm because he says “he likes to watch it with me, so we can share the laughter, or whatever it is with that particular thing”.  But honestly, it is not that I am not enjoying the show, or movie, it is that I am so happy, relaxed, comfy, and feel so safe and secure that I can’t help it.  It is the most comforting combination for me.  When the Artist was away in New York, I felt like I had to sleep with one eye and one ear open.  Man, I sure missed him.  But he called me every night to tell me all about his day, tell me how much he loves and misses me, and wish me goodnight.

Here is a look at our bed with the new headboard the Artist made me for my birthday.  There is a home made card in the pillow, a new plant on my night stand, and a cold glass of lemonade waiting for me.  He gets me.

headboard headboard2

He wanted to give me this early, because the next day, my birthday, needed this to go with it.  Breakfast in bed ❤

birthday

Our old headboard was wobbly and had a shelf, so you couldn’t lean back on it like this.  I had been talking about that for awhile saying I wanted to be able to sit up and lean on it to use the breakfast tray and just be able to sit up to read or watch something.

The Artist made this headboard.  He spent a lot of time getting it just right, and sweating like crazy working with his tools in the spare room on hot days, and sneaking around so I wouldn’t know what it was.

Mornings where we don’t have to go anywhere are also another favourite of mine.  However, if one of us has someone to be bright and early, it is not the same.  You read how much I love sleeping and being cozy, but having to leave before the Artist is awake and miss “the morning Artist” is so sad.  The morning Artist is so cute and cuddly, I love it.  This morning was one of those mornings- no where to go right away.

I was up earlier then the Artist, and checked my email, etc. and then went in to wake him up.  The morning Artist takes a while before he can talk, and communicates with subtle things like nodding his head ever so slightly, twitching, and saying “mhmm” when I kiss his cheek or stroke his hair (as do I when it is the other way around).  He was laying on my side, as he frequently does when I am not in the bed, and so I crawled in behind him.  I gently wake him up with kisses, rubbing his back, and whispering.  At this point I am starving for breakfast, and you all know what happens when I get hungry.  I told the Artist I needed to go get something to eat, but whenever I say this, generally he doesn’t let me sneak out of his arms.  He holds on tighter and maybe wraps a leg or two around me as well.  All the while, his eyes are still closed, but there is an ever so slight mischievous smile on his face.  This is something that just amazes me.  Most adults, as referenced in the movie Step Brothers, “lose their dinosaur”.  They lose that mischievous look in their eyes and curious grins on their faces as they grow up.  But the Artist, well into his adulthood, has never lost his dinosaur- and has resurrected mine.  Now I am faced with the ultimate inner turmoil: food or cuddles?!  How can I possibly choose just one, especially when the Artist is signalling non-verbally that he wants to snuggle.  So I bring us blueberry-oatmeal muffins in bed, I decided to choose the best of both worlds.  The Artist became verbal, and we had a little sillyness session of giggling and witty banter before we got up for the day.  Sometimes, the Artist needs a drink or to use the bathroom before he becomes verbal, and he staggers out of bed, eyes still closed trying desperately to open them (but the brightness of the day prevents it), and messy hair before he flops back into bed.

But, the funny thing is….when he has somewhere to be early in the morning, he is up right away, showers, eats, gets ready and bam!– out the door in no time.

So I fetched him a breakfast of coffee, a large helping of plain Greek yogurt with blueberries, and a side of strawberries.

My favourite way to start the day.

I love my Artist.

Leave a Reply

