Botanical Gardens

The other day the Artist and I went to the Missouri Botanical Gardens.  We have been once before, and it is just beautiful.  It is so huge, that you definitely need to go several times to see everything, and I think having been twice we still haven’t seen it all.  The best part is, for residents of the city and county, which we are, it is free admission on Wednesday and Saturday mornings before noon.

We went the first time for the Artist’s birthday.  I know, we got in for free, but it was still his present from me.  It was the thought that counted, and when I realized it was free it was just a bonus.  The Artist had been curious about plants and gardening lately, so I thought he would really enjoy going- and he loved it.  Right away he started his own plants and reading all about the things he saw, and got super excited about it all.  This time when we went, he was an expert on a lot things, and I got a “free tour” of sorts.  He could name everything and tell me interesting facts about them, much like the style when we go to an art museum, he knows all the details.  He is such a learner, reader, and thinker on so many topics and such, it amazes me.  I love this quality about the Artist.  It is something that you don’t see too often, and I treasure it.  His curiosity is not only utterly amazing, it always awakes my own.  And I think that when 2 people really bounce off one another like we do, it is refreshing.  We feed off one another- with support, encouragement, motivation, and love.  The Artist says that I am so smart, he is just trying to keep up with me.  It makes my heart so happy that I make him feel motivated and determined.  But, that is also how I feel about him.  Which motivates me to take steps further in my own career and goals.  And this circle is always in motion.  But this particular day, it was curiosity that we were bouncing around, and it was great.  We had a great time.  Got some sun and fresh air, it was a nice leisurely, long walk through the trails, and we went out for doughnuts before hand, despite my last post about healthy living.  I restricted myself to just one.

There is this little local doughnut shop that is a big hit in St. Louis, called World’s Fair Do-Nuts.  So we decided to check it out.  By the suggestion of a friend, I tried the buttermilk cake doughnut, and the Artist tried a regular glazed, and a buttermilk cake as well, and got a coffee of course.  For 3 doughnuts and a coffee, it cost like $2.50.  So cheap.  This buttermilk cake doughnut was so mouth-watering delicious, it was gone in 2 seconds and I sad I didn’t buy more.  It moved me almost to tears- it was that good.

Here are some photos from our visit to the gardens.

DSCN0120

A crazy looking aloe plant.

DSCN0113 DSCN0212DSCN0121

When these flowers grow, they become like a huge ball.

When these flowers grow, they become like a huge ball.

DSCN0128 DSCN0129

A Cardinal.

A Cardinal.

DSCN0139

The Artist having his coffee.

The Artist having his coffee.

DSCN0146 DSCN0147 DSCN0149

These fish were huge.

These fish were huge.

The Artist capturing me at my surprise.

The Artist capturing me at my surprise.

These leaves were huge.

These leaves were huge.

DSCN0163 DSCN0168 DSCN0171 DSCN0172 DSCN0173 DSCN0174 DSCN0175 DSCN0176 DSCN0177

Dwarf pomegranate tree.  I want one!

Dwarf pomegranate tree. I want one!

These were gorgeous.

These were gorgeous.

DSCN0188

Beautiful area to walk in.

Beautiful area to walk in.

DSCN0197

Taking a break, it was crazy hot.

Taking a break, it was crazy hot.

DSCN0213 DSCN0215

This building is super humid, is has lots of tropical plants and stuff needing high heat and humidity.

This building is super humid, is has lots of tropical plants and stuff needing high heat and humidity.

DSCN0219

 

And oh boy was it a hot one.  Lots of sweating and water bottle refills.  It was quite humid and sticky.  But we still have a fun time.

Nothing pleases me more then spending time together.  When it is time for special occasions and gift giving, I always say I don’t care what we do, eat, or even if we exchange gifts.  But it is the truth- I don’t care.  Just having the time together is what I am looking forward to.  The restaurant or the home cooking or the movie or place or whatever, is not important.  What is important is that I get to be with my Artist.  And the Artist feels the same way, he doesn’t care either- which makes for a long drawn out decision making process of what we will do because neither of us care about the where or the what, but rather, the who- that is, being with each other.

Leave a Reply

