To Canada and Back.

The last 2 weeks the Artist and I have been in Ontario, Canada to visit family and friends.  It has been amazing.  I found myself not taking too many photos, in comparison to the huge amounts of fun adventures we embarked on, and that “urge” to snap shots of fun times just wasn’t there.  But all for a good reason- I was too busy talking and visiting with everyone, time passed me by in an instant.  I was too consumed in enjoying the moments that taking photos seemed unimportant next to actually experiencing the adventures.

The drive there took 17.5 hours, which is pretty long….too long actually.  There was traffic, construction, and a line at the border, all of which added up.  We stopped overnight at a cheap motel, which was such a treat.  We ate late night junk food from burger joints and convenience stores, enjoyed the most comfortable bed and pillows ever (waaay better then the fancy places!), a hot shower, and cable TV.  It was just glorious.  The Artist and I fantasized about what it would be like to vacation like this for more then 1 night…….one day.

DSCN0287

our room

DSCN0293

Smurf milk for breakfast.

DSCN0289 DSCN0290 DSCN0292

After we arrived, right away we had “business” to take care of with things like health insurance, doctor’s appointments, etc.  On the way home from these, we got some Pad Thai.  I have yet to find a restaurant that tops the Mango Tree in Barrie for Pad Thai.  There are no words to describe it.  It is perfection.

DSCN0295

Of course I also had to try on my wedding dress.  Not only does it still fit, but it is loose fitting!  The Artist and I are about to celebrate our 3rd wedding anniversary this month.  Every time I put on this dress, I am transported back to our wedding day.  What an amazing day.  Simple, small, and cheap, but it was everything I wanted in a wedding- because all I wanted was to marry my Artist.  Nothing else mattered to me.  I wasn’t after the “dream wedding”, but rather, the dream marriage.  And I have it.  Nothing could have changed the way I felt holding my dad’s arm walking down the aisle to marry the Artist.  Nothing.  I could have been wearing pyjamas, and I still would have felt the same.  I get a little teary every time I think about it, I am so truly happy with my beloved Artist, there are no words to describe the feeling.

DSCN0296 DSCN0297

On another note, Creemore was freezing!  It was so chilly I borrowed Char’s slippers.  They were pretty big on my tiny feet, but they were so fuzzy and warm!  They reminded me of the Smurfs.  And I only had brought 1 sweater, which wasn’t very thick, but I layered up.

DSCN0311 DSCN0313

I even made some homemade peach popsicles, the same as on my previous posts, because they are my favourite snack, even when it is cold.  My mom had these moulds from my childhood, they were really tiny with little bears on the sticks.  She always made us homemade popsicles, the most common flavour being Tang.

 

DSCN0315

We did lots of eating while in Canada, and here are some spicy peanut kabobs I made when everyone else was having steak- I am not a beef lover.

DSCN0316

And then of course we did some camping with my parents and sister and brother-in-law.  The photos are dark, but this was Sherilee’s first time eating s’mores!  Obviously being the chocolate lover that she is, she loved them.  The 2 of us had them for lunch the next day 😀

DSCN0318 DSCN0323 DSCN0324 DSCN0332

Pork souvlaki kabobs with BBQ roasted mini potatoes with cheese and sugar snap peas….not too bad for roughing it eh?

 

DSCN0388DSCN0390

My Artist is so good at making and maintaining camp fires.  Awww, look at that face!  I just love him so much ❤

DSCN0337DSCN0338 DSCN0341DSCN0355 DSCN0363DSCN0366 DSCN0369DSCN0372 DSCN0381DSCN0386

 

We woke up on the last morning to find some animals had gotten into our food, and left no trace of an entire loaf of bread!!!!!  So my mom improvised, and used hotdog buns to make grilled ham and cheese sandwiches.  I was a little skeptical, but everyone who knows my mother- don’t under estimate her 😉

 

 

 

 

DSCN0397DSCN0400 DSCN0403

 

DSCN0396 DSCN0402

 

DSCN0387

 

 

We went for walks, shopping, watched satellite TV (we don’t have cable, so we caught up on our favourite shows!), went sailing, driving, I practiced driving our standard car lots, met up with friends, went swimming, went to the beach, and countless other adventures.  We did lots of visiting with family, and friends.  Ate lots of good food.  Had countless great laughs, until my eyes watered and my cheeks hurt.  Great heart-to-hearts, conversation, and we even squeezed in a trip to the Creemore Farmer’s market (where we ate Mama Marie’s perogies, Angie’s Place jerk chicken, and a local farmers muffins and butter tarts- we were stuffed afterwards) and out for ice cream at Mr. Norm’s Nephew.  I even got to satisfy my poutine craving!  I am so lucky to have such an amazing family, everyone is so supportive and generous, and love the Artist like their own.

My mom is so thoughtful, she sent these home with us so we could have a little Canadian homey touch in our St. Louis kitchen.  We LOVE Swiss Chalet, but there are none here, so she bought us some marinade and dip.  And the cookies are not only delicious, but a chlidhood favourite with a wonderful nostalgia attached to them.  They remind me of bummin’ around at home in the summers outside on the farm, watering the garden with my dad when I was in my pyjamas and supposed to be getting ready for bed, and hanging out with my mom.  The Golden Graham bars are a new product that are a variation of a discontinued childhood favourite as well, bringing back the same great memories, and are of course delicious.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

DSCN0412 DSCN0413 DSCN0414

 

I have the best family.  My mom is like my best girly friend, my dad and I have the greatest talks about life, I enjoy just hanging out with my brothers and being goofy with Sean, I look up to Sherilee and Allan- you guys are so awesome I don’t even know where to start!  My aunt Char has been like a second mom to me, my grandparents are the most generous, supportive, hilarious people I know.  I love listening to their anecdotes about life, and learning about my family history.  I could seriously so on and on about each family member and how incredible they are, and the same goes for the Artist’s family.  But I don’t need to say it, you all know.  Thanks for a wonderful visit, we can’t wait for next time!

P.S.  It is still hot as heck in St. Louis!  I was sweating to death while unpacking…yuck.

2 thoughts on “To Canada and Back.

Leave a Reply

