Never Lose Your Dinosaur.

You know that twinkle in a little child’s eye when they get into mischief?  Or when they are being silly?  Or that little smile that cracks over their lips?  That twinkle and that smile is something my Artist has never grown out of ❤  And I love it.  Sometimes I catch it and know I have just seconds before something silly will happen, and I find myself with a huge smile and uncontrollably laughing.  For example; spitting ice cold water on me when I am in the shower, setting something up to fall as soon as I walk by, placing a random object balanced perfectly or upside down in a strange place like on top of the TV or door frame, coming in for what I think is a hug but is actually a trap for being tickled to death, or coming in for a hug but it is really a trap for his ice cold hands to warm up on my back or neck, or pretending to eat something weird.  These are just a few.  The possibilities are endless.  But I love it.

Just the other day a friend asked me how I am liking his longer hair and beard.  I love it.  It looks great on him, he can pull it off.  It suits his personality so well.  And when paired with his style- wow.  He does his hair so well, has various glasses to go with his clothes, and shoes, and it all just works together.  And he can pull off crazy combinations like wearing plaid and stripes at the same time, or plaid and plaid, or whatever.  It is such a good representation of who he is, and it just “works” for him.

The inspiration of this post comes from the other day.  He approaches me with that twinkle in his eye, and a hint of that smile.  I immediately know he has ice cold water in his mouth, because otherwise his smile would be different.  And he can’t talk either or he will spill the water.  As I am realizing this, he moves in for a “hug” and I can’t escape.  With his eyes closed, as if this is normal, he soaks me with the water.  And sometimes he has a glass of it stashed in a convenient place to grab.  Wow, this sounds insane.  But, it is fun!  In this heat, having a water fight in the house is a great way to cool off and laugh and be silly 😀  It is who we are, it is our normal.

It makes me smile and laugh, and even join in on the silliness!  It keeps things interesting, and fun.  Even in the most stressful of times, laughter is truly the best medicine.  I love my Artist for who he is, and I wouldn’t ever change a thing.  He is, as I like to tease, “wonderfully crazy”.  Using the metaphor from the movie Step Brothers; the Artist an never lost his dinosaur, and has helped me resurrect mine ❤

A recent photo of his long hair and beard.

A recent photo of his long hair and beard.

Fun and games at the park.

Fun and games at the park.

Silly putty fun, balancing on top of a pop bottle.

Silly putty fun, balancing on top of a pop bottle.

I got him a mini slinky for Christmas.

I got him a mini slinky for Christmas.

Some frozen fries fell in an interesting shape, so he added to it.

Some frozen fries fell in an interesting shape, so he added to it.

At the park.

At the park.

At the park.

At the park.

Just a few photos I could find capturing some of our fun and games.  As the Artist sits beside me on the other laptop, I hear “oh look, chainsaws are on sale at Harbour Freight Tools”…..I can’t help but smile.  This weekend has been lots of fun. It is a holiday, so no school for the Artist…I wonder what today will bring. ❤

Leave a Reply

