Copycat Red Lobster Cheddar Bay Biscuits

I was looking on The Brown Eyes Baker’s blog; http://www.browneyedbaker.com because there are great recipes and ideas, and really awesome photos of the finished product as well, and came across Red Lobster cheddar bay biscuits.  The recipe was a copycat style, making these biscuits from scratch.  I looked up other recipes to see if there was a trend as to what works best, and I read a comment saying that Red Lobster uses Bisquick as their base.  Now, I don’t know if this is true or not, and most recipes I found did include Bisquick, but thought I would give it a go.  Except, I only had Great Value Pancake mix from WalMart.  It must be at least similar to Bisquick, right?  Well, I was about to find out.

The batter was super sticky and hard to handle:

DSCN0677

I messily plopped them down on a baking sheet, not forming tight balls or anything- just very roughly plopping handfuls onto the tray.

DSCN0676

And when they were done, I brushed on a garlicy-melted-butter topping, and served them right away.

DSCN0678

Here is a close up, just to make your mouth water even more.

DSCN0679

The verdict: I was in the kitchen, and didn’t tell my husband what I was doing, I was just having some Sunday afternoon kitchen time- cooking up a storm.  Then all of a sudden I emerged with these, and his eyes bulged.  This is the reason we go to Red Lobster- the biscuits are clearly the best part.  I don’t even like lobster, or any fish for that matter, and I LOVE Red Lobster.  So much delicious food, for such a little price (I obviously go with a handful of coupons of course 😉 !!)  In addition to their biscuits, they have great starters, salads, and this creamy pasta dish that is just outstanding.  And it is not like most pasta dishes with loads of noodles and a few pieces of meat- if that.  It was loaded with tons of chicken, that was cooked really well and not charred so it was dry, grizzly, or tasted like charcoal.  My mouth is watering just thinking about it.  And dessert, wow.  So good.

Anyways, as my husband took the first bite, he was amazed.  He was speechless.  Then he found 1 word- “wow”.  Then all of a sudden he couldn’t stop saying “wow”.  After 2 fresh, warm biscuits, he found his words again, and raved about how they were exactly like the ones at Red Lobster.  Success?  I think so!  And to brag a little more, he said the sandwich I concocted the other day was better then Subway 😉

Here is the recipe I used, it is from http://abcnews.go.com/GMA/recipe?id=7271697 and I tweaked it a little, which is in brackets:

Batter:

– 2 and 1/2 cups Bisquick baking mix (I used Great Value Walmart brand pancake mix)

– 3/4 cup cold whole milk (I used 2%)

– 4 tablespoons cold butter (I used a wee bit extra)

– 1/4 teaspoon garlic powder (I didn’t measure, just generously shook it in!)

– 1 cup, heaping, cheddar cheese, grated (I used a VERY heaping cup)

– I also added a sprinkle of baking soda, “just because”…I wasn’t sure if the pancake batter would work the same as Bisquick and I didn’t want them to be too dense, but light and fluffy

For the butter topping:

– 2 tablespoons butter, melted (this lasted for 9 biscuits, the other 3 I had to make a bit more)

– 1/4 teaspoon dried parsley flakes (I didn’t measure, I just poured generously)

– 1/2 teaspoon garlic powder (again, didn’t measure, just poured generously, I like lots of flavour)

– pinch of salt (omitted this)

Step 1: I put pancake mix in a bowl, and used a form, and my hands, to cut the cold butter into the pancake mix, there were still little lumps of butter in it when I was finished.

Step 2: I mixed in the garlic powder, cheese, and then the milk.

Step 3: Mixed with my hands.  This was super messy and sticky 🙂  Mixed until combined, but careful not to over mix.

Step 4: Plopped onto ungreased baking tray, I used a stoneware one from Pampered Chef because the bottoms of things on there never seem to get too dark.

Step 5:  Baked in a pre-heated oven at 400, but had something else in there at 350 for the second batch, and it worked just as well. Cooked for about 15 minutes, or until slightly golden.

Step 6: Microwave butter, and add garlic powder and parsley.  Brushed on top generously and served warm and fresh.

I will be making this many, many more times in the future, they are just delicious 😀

Leave a Reply

