Love.

One of my oldest, long time friends Adam posted this on Facebook recently:

“I live in my parents basement. I am a nerd. I play way too many video games, read too many books at the same time, and know way too many movies off by heart. My friends in high school always used to say “you’ll never get laid when all you talk about is games.” I would always say the same thing back: “Why would I want to sleep with a girl who doesn’t like games?” It may sound silly but in essence, I meant that I wouldn’t get serious with a girl I have nothing in common with just to “get laid.” I’m not the guy with a mile long list of ‘kills’ or ‘wins’ and I see that as a good thing.

About a year ago I met a girl who, with her 2 year old daughter, lives in her parents basement, plays too many video games, reads way too many books, and has a movie collection to rival my own. Together we spend as much time together as we can, doing the things we love together, from playing games together or just reading in silence beside one another. They say no matter who you are, there is someone out there for you. I have been lucky enough to meet her.

Best part? I get to be me, in my favourite place in the world; with my two girls.”—

It touched me, because I can relate to this- big time.  Adam, I hope we will reunite one day, like how we ran into each other randomly at Georgian College, when I didn’t even go to that campus.  And we will reminisce about spending so many high school lunch hours talking about movies, and laughing at the funniest parts.

Here is my version of this….

I am a dork.  I love reading, movies, listening to classic rock on vinyl, and laughing.

Boy do I love to laugh.  Lots of people would look at me like I am crazy, being the only one laughing at something funny while watching a movie.  I would be laughing so hard there were tears flowing from eyes, and sometimes we were in a theatre.  But no one noticed the weird facial expression, or subtle line, let alone think it was funny.  If we were at home and I could rewind it, they saw it, and didn’t think it was funny at all, but did however, think I was insane for laughing so hard.

I love reading, and learning, and value the education I have.  I can write an essay at super human speed, and get a near perfect grade on it.  I can write a test and ace it, without having studied as hard as my classmates, having skipped a class, or not even buying the textbook let alone reading it.  I always joke that I am like The Matrix, I can just type a code and boom- I know all the materials.  I love what I have studied, and hope to do it again one day.

I watch movies like crazy, recite lines, and do bad impressions.  I find Nicolas Cage absolutely hilarious.

Why was Rock95 always on in my car- my high school friends wondered.  Because I don’t like country.  Haha, that’s right folks from back home, I don’t like it, and never have really.  I like the Rolling Stones, Billy Joel, Elton John, etc. and even have vinyl records of them.

I love my family.  We are super close.  We live far away and I miss them a lot.

I am a very passionate person.  I am sensitive, and loving.

I was always the strange one, or at least I always felt like it.  Getting comments on my “non-matching” outfit, because I loved plaid, weird colours, and vintage styles.  I had old taste in music.  I liked movies no one else liked.  I wasn’t in teenager-avoid-your-parents mode, I thought my parents were cool and enjoyed spending time together with them.  I love grocery shopping with my mom, even still today.

I never had dates or guys who were interested in me- ever.  My first boyfriend and guy who was even interested in me wasn’t until I was 17, and finishing high school.

But about 4 years ago I met the Artist.  He not only loved to laugh at the things most people overlooked, but he loved to make others laugh.  He does hilarious impressions, and finds Nicolas Cage just as funny as I do.  He listens to the same music, and enjoys the sound of vinyl.  He even bought me a record player for our 2nd wedding Anniversary!  He loves movies, and introduced me to even more hilarious titles.  We have the same, weird sense of humour.  He loves to read and learn even more then I do, and is so smart and intelligent, it blows my mind.  He loves weird styles, and vintage, and gets comments on his plaid shorts and striped shirt (which I think looks amazing!).  He loves his family, and now loves mine just as much as I do.  And grocery shopping with my mom- is now a trio, and full of even more laughing and giggling.  He too is a passionate person.  He is very sweet and sensitive.  He was attracted to the qualities of me that normally got commented about or that I felt different and a little insecure for.

So there is definitely someone out there for each person, no matter who you are.  I have found my someone, and am happily married to that someone.  I feel so lucky and fortunate.

My life has been so enriched, in so many ways.

Best part?  I have never been myself to such a high degree.  Being with the Artist has allowed me to be me, to the full extent possible.  And even being aware of this is all thanks to the Artist, because, he was telling me how I allow him to be him, to the full extent possible.  And I was like, hey- I feel the same way.

I love my Artist.

Happiness is contagious.

Then:

This photo was taken before the Artist and I were even dating.  It was shortly after we became roommates and instantly best friends.

This photo was taken before the Artist and I were even dating. It was shortly after we became roommates and instantly best friends.

Now:

us

Leave a Reply

