Donuts, Poutine, Truffles, and a Homemade Scarf.

My cheat treat this week was poutine, something I had on my mind and it was long overdue for achieving satisfaction.  I did it at home, because St. Louis has no clue what poutine even is.  I couldn’t find any cheese curds, so I just used mozzarella.  For make-shift poutine at home- I did pretty darn good.  It was really yummy, and the Artist even liked it too.

DSCN1205

 

The next morning we planned on grabbing donuts at World’s Fair Donuts-ok, so I had 2 cheat treats lol-on our way to the free admission of the Botanical Gardens.  We are cursed for this.  We have to get there before noon to get the free admission on Saturdays, and something always happens.  Sometimes there is traffic or an accident and we are stuck, etc. but this time, we got lost.  The road we were supposed to take was not a through road, therefore we couldn’t turn where we were supposed to.  Obviously, we got lost and drove around for like 2 hours.  We got there just after noon, and they wouldn’t let us in unless we paid.  So we got donuts afterwards and went grocery shopping instead.  World’s Fair Donuts are amazing, and so cheap.  A buttermilk cake donut is just 56 cents.  And boy are they ever tasty.

DSCN1207

 

There are no words to describe this.  You must try it to fully grasp what I am trying to tell you.  I could eat an endless amount of these and never get sick of them.  So good.

Hopefully next time we make it to the gardens on time.  I want to go again now that it is fall because of all the beautiful fall colours and nice weather.  And by nice, I do not mean scorching hot.  And by nice, I do not mean lung burning cold.  By nice, I mean a light jacket or sweater is all that is needed because the breeze is fresh and the sun is out- and we are far enough away from it now in November that it doesn’t feel scorching.

This nice weather makes me actually want to spend time in the kitchen, and not have to slave over a hot stove and oven sweating like a maniac- like during the summer.  So I made some healthy treats that taste amazing.  These little truffle bites are made with chick peas.  The Artist says they taste “healthy” but I think they taste the same as my non-healthy ones.  I posted about the non-healthy version previously….chocolate-peanut butter-pretzel truffles (or balls, or whatever you want to call them).  These ones consist of chick peas, organic natural unsalted peanut butter, a few pieces of chopped dates, and pretzels, blended together in the food processor.  It is sort of crumbly, but you can form balls in your hands and I rolled a few in dark chocolate, a few I left as-is, and a few I rolled in crushed peanuts.  I keep them in the freezer and eat them frozen- for some reason I like to eat frozen things.  Cheesecake, brownies, chocolate bars, fruit chunks, cookies, etc. etc.  I think it started with my impatience for not wanting to wait for them to unthaw, and now I prefer them frozen.

DSCN1070 DSCN1071

On another note, I recently finished up another knitting project.  I have been doing this one forever- like over a year haha.  Like I said in my last post, I don’t get addicted to projects with smaller needles and yarn- and this one is both.  I made a scarf, with alternating knitting stitch stripes and stockinette stitch stripes.  It is attached at the ends, so you put your head through the whole, versus wrapping it around.

DSCN1209 DSCN1211

 

 

The Artist is so sweet, today he made the bed for me.  And the other day he “forced” me to buy a $1 pair of Christmas socks, because he knows how much I love festive items, especially socks.  And this pair, for some reason, are my absolute most favourite, and he could tell instantly that they were perfect.  He also talked with me about future plans, where to live after he is done school, goals, career moves, etc. and we stayed up until the wee hours of the morning having an amazing heart-to-heart laying in bed in the dark.  Snuggling of course.  It was a really great talk.  He knows me inside and out, and there is nothing we wouldn’t do for my happiness.  And I for him.  This morning I made hime his coffee before I left, and placed a little love note on top of the coffee make so he would see it right away.  He says when he makes coffee, and when he does, it tastes like swill.  Swill, or hot brown water.  But the funny thing is, I don’t even drink coffee.  We came to the conclusion that when something is made for you by someone else with love, it makes a difference in the taste ❤  The other day he made me smile, and warmed my heart to the core.  He is so funny, and I love discovering his antics after the fact.  I come in and sit down on the couch beside him, and told him that his shirt is on inside out.  He hadn’t realized this and had been walking around all day like that.  “Thankfully”, he said, he “didn’t go out in public”.  My heart=warmed instantly.  He was more then likely focused on his painting and other works that he didn’t realize.  He sees the world in a way that no one else does- every shadow, shape, and colour is interesting.  Flaws are not undesired, but rather, beautiful and tell a story.  From his perspective, noticing his shirt on backwards, or being bothered to switch it, wasn’t important.  The world has too much else to offer.

Sometimes, we don’t need to “do” or “say” something, all we need to do is embrace one another.  These extended hugs communicate everything between us when words don’t have the right, or enough, meaning.

Take a moment out of the day and hug your wife, husband, partner, or significant other, and pause for a moment.  Embrace with your heart.  Draw a gentle circles on his/her back with your hand, or cradle their face.  Tell your partner how much you love them, how you feel.  Give gentle, tender kisses.  Maybe whisper words in their ear so it tickles a little, maybe even causes some giggling.  Touch your noses together, in an eskimo kiss.  Take a moment from the hectic, crazy, wild adventures of the day to really be 110% present with your partner during this embrace.  You may not even need words, because your hearts will say everything.  I can’t think of a better way to recharge.  Life is precious, and the little moments can really make a difference in helping to enjoy every moment of it, and treasure it.  You will be surprised how intimate this can be, and how it can really help connect you when your brain is running a mile a minute.

Happiness is contagious.

Leave a Reply

