Holidays in St. Louis!

So the Artist had a nice 3 days off school and work, followed by the weekend.  We started off by using a gift card we had to an Italian bakery near by and enjoyed these treats!  The chocolate drizzled coconut macaroons were probably the best I have ever had.

DSCN1321DSCN1323

Then, my mom calls me and asks if I have check the mail lately.  I say no, and run out to the mailbox, which is just outside our door, look.  There was a parcel notice in there!  I had to wait until Monday, but was waking Steve up first thing that morning so we could go and get it- I was so excited to receive yet another parcel from home.  It was full of Christmas supplies and festive items- my favourite!!!  Very similar to Halloween box of goodies sent earlier.  There were Christmas socks (as I imitate my best Mr. Bean impression, and yes, I still love Mr. Bean), cherry candy canes (because I don’t like peppermint ones), Christmas cards, oven mitts, coasters, tree decorations, fridge magnets, the works!

DSCN1372

DSCN1370

And there was an advent calendar, and not just any, but this one contained chocolates from Laura Secord.  It is my first time trying that kind, and boy are they awesome.  Very high quality chocolate, and really creamy and delicious.  I have such a great family, and a huge shout out to my mom for going through the trouble and mailing this parcel ❤

After a day at home full of cleaning and organizing and relaxing, I heard a strange noise coming from the other room.  I go and check.  It is the Artist carving a wood sculpture with old knives.  You would think I would be shocked, but I am not.  Me finding the Artist doing strange things like this is our norm.  I came home the other day and there was a stool type thing in the bathroom, that is normally in our living room.  I couldn’t figure out what it was there for….the Artist later informs me it was to prop up the mirror so he could see the back of his head to cut his hair.  Ha!  What a guy.  I love his shenanigans.  They never get old and always surprise me.  That is one thing I love about our relationship, and something that I think really keeps us going strong and in love every single day- constantly surprising each other.  It is not as easy as it sounds, try and think about the last time your significant other surprised you, or you surprised them.  Not easy, eh?  Making an effort for little surprises are a big deal. For example, the Artist knows how much I like a tidy bedroom and the bed made because I feel more relaxed without stuff strewn across the room.  Tidiness around me helps me feel calm.  So he surprises me by making the bed, or staging a teddy bear in a funny way that he will know I will see when I get home.  Or sometimes when I leave early in the morning, and he is still sound asleep, I leave a little love note where I know he will see it- like by his glasses, coffee pot, or toothbrush.  Surprising each other, acknowledging these efforts, and expressing gratitude, in my opinion, is extremely important in a marriage.  Communication is key.  The Artist often surprises me with his skills and creativity.  He had no wood carving tools, but he somehow still made it work.

DSCN1362

Then we cleared off our older bookshelf and neatened it up, I love the raw, unfinished look of it.

DSCN1508

The Artist had recently made another bookshelf from mostly scrap pieces of wood, and so we filled it up with all the books that were stacked on our floor.

DSCN1510

And now we could actually sit in this chair because it is no longer full of books!  We still need some small tables to replace the milk crates holding our records, and to set our record player on.  I am sure we will have more scraps in no time.

DSCN1512

Then of course, as per my previous post, we went to the Thanksgiving Day parade downtown St. Louis.  There, we were given a Visa gift card.  We decided to pair that with our coupons and have a feast at Red Lobster.  We got an appetizer, two salads, a soup, the Artist got a large draft beer and for his entree he got a platter of lobster, scallops, shrimp, rice, and broccoli, I got a chicken pasta that had at least 2 full chicken breasts on it, and we got a dessert.  And unlimited cheddar bay biscuits.  Not to mention the two extra sides of lobster tail.  The bill would have been $95 plus tax and tip.  With coupons and a gift card, we paid only $26.  Go ahead, applaud me 😉  How awesome is that?!  I know, I know, we are on a tight budget, but how could we not get such delicious food for so cheap?  We decided to treat ourselves.  Let just, I was uncomfortably full before my entree even came, that is how full I was.  We took a lot of leftovers home, at least 3 meals just out of my pasta dish alone.  We did a little Black Friday looking around, but clearly, I can get an awesome deal any time of the year.  We both hate the crowds and crammed shopping spaces, so we didn’t last long, and didn’t find anything worth the hassle.

We also did some home cooking, and went to a studio visit of local artist, and bought our Christmas tree and decorating the apartment.  In addition to these photos, I have towels and soaps and socks and pyjamas that are festive as well 🙂

DSCN1548

Dancing? Christmas tunes were playing and I was loving it 🙂 I may look silly here, but I had a wonderful time decorating the tree.

DSCN1513 DSCN1514 DSCN1516 DSCN1518 DSCN1519 DSCN1520 DSCN1522 DSCN1525 DSCN1530 DSCN1531 DSCN1534 DSCN1535 DSCN1536 DSCN1537

DSCN1538 DSCN1539 DSCN1547 DSCN1554

Today, I decide to put some candy canes on the tree.  Cherry of course 😉

DSCN1555

The only thing missing is trekking out in the snow and cold weather with my mom and aunt to do Christmas shopping, being in the hustle and bustle of things, and going out to lunch- especially to East Side Marios.  Or the food court in the mall, and we all get different things.  Then getting home at all hours of the night with our goods and unloading and wrapping chit chatting.

Soon enough!  I can’t wait to see everyone during the holidays.

Family is so important to me.

Happiness is contagious.

Leave a Reply

