More Holiday Fun in St. Louis!

The other day, the Artist and I exchanged gifts.  We always do this before the actual Christmas holiday because we are so busy visiting family, we like to have some private time to do our own celebrations- just the two of us.  The Artist knows me so well, and is so thoughtful ❤

He got me some knew slippers.  Sounds generic right?  Well my slippers are several years old and full of holes- I had to wear socks in them too.  So they were not only practical, they were so thoughtful.  He knew how much I loved cozy, soft things in general, and knew how much I would love the pattern on them and the tassels!

DSCN1713

 

And this hat- which I love.  The craziness of it, the pattern, the fluffy fur- he gets me.

DSCN1715

 

And some yarn for knitting.  He knew that my all-time favourite stuff to knit with is soft, thick yarn.  I don’t mind thinner yarn, but the thick stuff is my favourite.

DSCN1717

 

And he got me a stocking full of treats!

DSCN1718

 

Ring pops- because I had been wanting them lately, and couldn’t find any cherry.  Some dark chocolate including a bar from Trader Joe’s, because I had been eyeing them up recently.  A pack of bandages, because I am always scraping my knees, getting blisters on my feet and cutting my fingers.  This was intended as a joke, but I ended up scraping my finger the next morning!  And my very first nail polish!  Because I recently broke a life long habit of chewing my nails, and they are finally a reasonable length to paint.  I had this clear stuff that I got in high school and it is all gluey, and I had been wanting a coloured one.

DSCN1720

Before painting them.

DSCN1721

DSCN1728

After painting them- notice the bandages lol!

DSCN1725 DSCN1723 DSCN1719

I got my Artist a coffee grinder and some Starbucks whole coffee beans, some Bailey’s, a decanter to hold brandy or whisky, some new juggling balls, and some odds and ends in his stocking like chocolate-coconut macaroons 🙂  Here is a photo of his coffee supplies and juggling with the new balls!

DSCN1716

Under the leg!

DSCN1722 DSCN1714

He loves his coffee, and I knew he would love freshly ground beans every morning 🙂

He is so thoughtful.  He really gets me.  He really listens to me, and specifics about my tastes and preferences.  I feel so lucky to have a husband who is so in tune with me ❤

I also did some holiday baking, and of course made the Artist’s favourite- shortbread cookies.  I also made gingerbread cookies, some rice krispie squares, and some black bean brownies.  The brownies were mainly for me, as they are “healthified” and super gooey and chewy- a type of brownie the Artist isn’t partial to.  But my other treats were a hit 😉

DSCN1690 DSCN1689 DSCN1660 DSCN1597 DSCN1586 DSCN1584 DSCN1583

 

I am a little sad that Christmas in St. Louis is passing so quickly, but I am also excited to see family!  It is a bittersweet feeling.  Time seems to fly fast and faster which each coming month, and sometimes I just want things to slow down a little, to stop and smell the roses.  But time doesn’t slow down, only we can.  Which is why I try and savour the little pleasures together- like watching Home Alone in front of our lit up tree, enjoying mimosa’s and cheers-ing to celebrate so many things.

Cheers to a new year that is just as happy and fun as the last.

2 thoughts on “More Holiday Fun in St. Louis!

  1. Such a fun to read blog,,,always admire the joy and happiness in the little things, and the joy it brings in making each other happy!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

