Congratulations to my sister, Dr. Sherilee <3

***I began to draft this yesterday, but didn’t post until today.  So when I say “today my sister…”, it is actually yesterday, Feb. 20!***

Today, my sister had her PhD convocation.  She has been studying public health and epidemiology for several years now……wow, what an accomplishment.  I love bragging about my sister, telling others how much of a big deal she is ;)  Her list of awards, scholarships, research, traveling for research, published papers, presentations, etc., etc., etc., is a pretty extensive one.  She landed a job at the University of Guelph as a professor, and continuing her research, before she was even officially a graduate.  When she told me about the intensive interview process for this job, and about the competition, it was pretty clear to me that she would get it- no doubts.  And she did- obviously, I mean, come on, look at her impressive accomplishments: http://sherileeharper.com/ 😉  Did I mention she is married to her high school sweetheart, so is getting his master’s in engineering?!  Ya, that’s right, they are a powerhouse those two.  They are both insanely busy, engulfed with their passions, yet somehow find the time to assist me with all my struggles in life.  Sherilee had me working for her as a research assistant transcribing interviews (which has been extremely valuable experience), she gives me advice on how go about looking at grad schools and scholarships, and Allan has been constantly giving me feedback on my various resumes and cover letters for potential jobs, grad school applications, etc.  They even used their own air miles to buy the Artist and I plane tickets to attend their wedding!  They share our love for learning, thirst for knowledge, and sense of humour.  I can’t think of a better example, other then my own marriage, of being married to your best friend.

Seeing her convocation photos was exactly the reminder I needed today, that there IS light at the end of the tunnel.  And even when neither the Artist nor myself can see that light with all the road blocks we experience, and basically every day is full of them, having someone close to me make it out alive (haha!) with great success makes it a reality.  A reality that with loads of hard work and dedication, the almighty dream goals CAN be achieved.  Because today, I was having a hard time with the difficulty of every, single, little, thing.  I couldn’t even get to campus without some ridiculous mess happening, let alone anything else.  And sometimes, the weight on my shoulders of always striving for the seemingly impossible, gets to me- even though I feel that I am an abnormally positive and happy person.  And hearing Allan tell stories of school, work, etc. and how he handles stressful situations with ease and humour, seemingly hardly even flinching, it reinforces the Artist and I’s humour, as it can be a useful coping strategy.  The ability to find humour in life, even under the most stressful of circumstances, is something I am grateful for.  The Artist and I can usually laugh about our crazy “adventures” afterwards, sometimes hysterically 😉
Having said that, I feel much better right now.  The Artist made a good point when I was upset about the whole can’t-afford-tuition thing as mentioned in my previous post; our best, most fun, most adventurous times were when?  Living in Toronto, and living here.  Both of these were never our first choices in reaching our ultimate goals.  In fact, they were last minute “Plan B” spur-of-the-moment decisions.  So even if I have to decline this acceptance offer-GULP!- I have faith that our last minute Plan B will be just as amazing, if not better.  It doesn’t mean our ultimate goals will change, but rather, we will have to take a different route to get there.
The Artist and I are not ones to settle for anything less then exactly what we want.  Every step we take is in the right direction, no matter how insane or crazy!  And every step, usually with the help of Sherilee and Allan ;), brings us one step closer to that forever chased, light at the end of the tunnel.  And every step is a journey, and an adventure.  And I can’t think of anyone better to share it with- I love my Artist ❤
5 thoughts on “Congratulations to my sister, Dr. Sherilee <3

  1. Checked out your sister Sherilee’s website, she is such a very accomplished person and I am sure you must be proud of her. So great that however busy your sister and brother in law are, they are looking out for you.
    Emily, you are just an important a person. You have accomplished much, and with your back against the wall seem to overcome whatever obstacles come your way. Each obstacle has, and will continue to make you a stronger person.
    Blessings!! 🙂

    • You are so kind Carl! I agree with what you said, each obstacle makes me a stronger person. You yourself have had loads of adventures throughout your life, most recently the marathon you ran! Your kindness, motivation, determination, and positive energy is contagious 🙂

    • It is the honest truth! I will be 25 this July, and the Artist will be 29 this June, and sometimes we are just like, “where the heck are these so called careers?!” LOL! We get very impatient! So looking at both you and Allan brings us back to Earth, and reminds us that with lots of hard work, careers actually exist 😉 (we often joke that having a career is like an illusion, that really, they don’t exist lol)

Leave a Reply

