Time to Get Out of This Funk.

I don’t know if it is the weather, the changing seasons, or what, but I have been in this weird funk for the last couple weeks. I think that this end-of-winter-almost-spring change of seasons where everything is gray, and gloomy, and cold, and everyone is anxious for spring to begin, has taken it’s toll on me.

I haven’t felt like cooking, it seems like such a chore, and I have no desire to do it, when normally I enjoy cooking. And the same goes for baking, both regular and healthified. I don’t particularly enjoy cleaning the house, but normally I am good at keeping up with it, and it isn’t overly time consuming because we have an apartment versus a multiple story house, a small kitchen, and just 1 bathroom. But I have no motivation to do this, nor to do laundry (mostly because I have to go outside and into the basement, and carrying all the stuff down is such a hassle, and my clumsy self frequently trips on the stairs, sometimes resulting in nasty wounds). I haven’t picked up my knitting in a while, or read the current book I have on the go. There are projects that need to be done around the house, like fixing up the chairs we bought at Goodwill for a couple bucks each, cleaning out the pantry, etc., and none of them have amounted to anything more then just a thought. Even just going grocery shopping seems like a chore, even thought I normally I love it…getting all bundled up, going out in the cold, on a gloomy day, just ugh. And this type of mood and the gloomy weather, influences me to want to eat junk food, and resisting is so hard for me, and can be kind of exhausting haha. And I am just really busy with volunteering in the community, and applying to grad school and looking for scholarships, that these gray days can slip by in an instant. And I just have a lot on my plate, which is exhausting to carry around.

I am so sick of this! So I have decided that enough is enough, the weather and everything else does not get to dictate me or influence this kind of lifestyle- I am getting out of this funk, and back to my vibrant self. I figured that setting some goals for what I want to do, how I want to spend my time, and deciding what is important to me and creating a list, would be the best way for me to go about cutting off this extreme, lazy, procrastination. So here is my “beat this gloomy season funk” to-do list.

– Clean the house, top to bottom. A cluttered and messy living space makes for a restless and overwhelmed mind. And a clean and tidy living space makes for a more calm mind, or so I have found for me.

– Catch up on laundry.

– Schedule a day that works for both the Artist and I to prepare our taxes.

– Apply for an external scholarship.

– Go to the Soulard Farmer’s Market. To stock up on fresh and healthy foods, support local farmers, and get some fresh air and out and about in the community. I like to eat local and organically as often as I can.

– Do some yoga. I enjoy kripalu yoga. I find it is relaxing, stress relieving, and is really beneficial for my body’s needs.

– Work with the Artist on fixing up the chairs from Goodwill.

– Stock up on lots of healthy foods to fill my body with nutrients, and to entice me to cook lots of home cooked meals, and healthified bakes gods.

– Switch up my exercise routine to include heavier lifting and more cardio.

– Clean out and organize the fridge, freezer, and pantry.

– Find good homes for clothing and other items that I no longer need, and that are contributing to the clutter.

– Do a little thrifting. I could some some non-winter shoes that are more fancy then every day wear.

– Pick up my knitting.

– Finish my current novel.

– Watch some good movies.
This seems like a simple to-do list, which it sort of is. But by accomplishing all of the things that I have been avoiding and procrastinating with laziness, I will feel productive and proud of myself. It is like a snow ball effect; once I just get started, which is the hardest part, it will all come quickly together.

So after making this list, I feel a lot more organized and motivated to “get back to life”, and make the time for things that are important to me, both in terms of necessary things like cleaning and taxes, but also things I do for myself, like reading and watching movies. Keeping up with one’s hobbies gets more difficult as we get older and busier with life, and I do not want to lose or forget about mine. So making the time for them is important to me.

So far, I can cross a few items on my list.

We got the chairs fixed up, the Artist reupholstered them, and I helped clean them up.  It cost only about $4 per chair to do so 🙂

DSCN2503 DSCN2504 DSCN2506

And we went thifting.  I found these gems, all in like-new condition for a couple bucks a piece.

DSCN2354 DSCN2347 DSCN2346 DSCN2344

We also watched Julie and Julia, and It’s Complicated, having a nice date-night in together, and after we watch a good movie it always sparks really great conversation between us afterwards ❤

I couldn’t end this post without sharing another Artist moment.  He is so funny, and wonderfully weird 😉  I went into the bathroom and took a shower.  When I came out, I saw this:

DSCN2428

In the 10-15 minutes I was in the bathroom showering, the Artist had decided to make some art, busted off a ton of drawings, and was laying on a floor playing catch with himself with a roll of masking tape.  It it kind of like when you leave a room and come back to find your dog having done something silly.

I love him ❤

Leave a Reply

