New Skin Care Routine!

I have always had oily skin for as long as I can remember.  My face in particular, is always full of little blemishes, as well as giant, red, “volcano” pimples here and there.  It seems that I am never blemish free, always having new ones appear.  In fact, I have never thought of myself to have clear skin, or at least not on my face.  As a teenager, it was worse.  But as an adult, I thought my face would chill out and become “normal”.  It has not.  I have tried lots of different cleansers and moisturizers, as well as acne spot treatment creams.  There were all ok.  Helped a little I guess.  Helped me feel less “greasy”.  I also have oily hair, so by the end of each day I am really looking forward to a shower because I feel “greasy” from my naturally oily self.

The Artist has been using baby powder in his under arms in place of deodorant sometimes, especially if his skin was irritated from chafing (because the deodorant would sting!), much like how ladies can get chafing from their thighs rubbing together when wearing a skirt in the hot summer.  So we were talking one day about this, and he was wondering if cornstarch would be better because it does’t have that baby powder scent, and I thought of baking soda.  I thought that it might be useful not only for being gentle on his irritated skin, but it would also be a good deodorizer.  So he gave it a whirl!  Just patted it on, and away he went.  It worked really well!  By the end of the day, after applying it just once, he was hooked.  His under arms literally had no scent at all, and it was so gentle on his skin.  It even says right on the box that it is useful for the skin and gives directions on how to add it to bath water, use on your face, etc. (no where on our box does it say anything about baking lol!).

So I decided to try it on my face, and to make sure I that I knew any results were not from the products I already had, I eliminated all my other facial products and replaced them with natural ones.  My cleanser/exfoliator was replaced with baking soda mixed with a little watet to make a sort of paste that I rubbed on my face and then rinsed off.  My moisturizer was replaced with a blend of coconut and oregano oil, which was mostly coconut oil and just a few drops of oregano oil.  I use oregano oil for everything!  And I replaced my acne spot treatment with oregano oil on a cotton swab diluted with a bit of water.

I used the baking soda once a day, right after I got out of the shower.  I used the moisturizer as needed, and only a little, about once every 2-3 days after exfoliating.  And I used the spot treatment oregano oil as needed right before bed, every 3-4 days.  I noticed a difference immediately, after the first 24 hours.  My blemishes looked a lot less “angry”, although still there.  I continued with this regimen and I continued to feel less “greasy” and my blemishes continued to go down.  I continued for 2 weeks just to make sure it wasn’t a coincidence, and I am happy to say that this is my new long term facial regimen 😀

The before and after photos are not the best, they don’t capture the “real” way they looked very well, but it was the best I could do.

BEFORE (forehead): loads of little blemishes.

DSCN4338

 

BEFORE (chin): lots of little blemishes and a few big, red spots.

DSCN4339

 

AFTER (forehead): much better 🙂

 

DSCN4439

AFTER (chin): much better 🙂

 

DSCN4422

 

These photos obviously have different lighting, some were taken in the bathroom, and some in my front room mirror- wherever I could zoom in and get a reasonably clear window of my skin!

I am so happy with my new facial routine, hopefully it will continue to work well for me 🙂

2 thoughts on “New Skin Care Routine!

Leave a Reply

