Re-Vamping Brownies from a Box

One thing that I have never mastered is a good, go-to recipe for homemade brownies.  I just always have preferred the kind from a box.  If you use coupons, the brownies from a box are much cheaper, easier, faster, and as I said, I have always much preferred the taste.  However, my brownies from a box have been far too cakey…..and if you know me, you will know how much I LOVE super fudgey, ultra gooey brownies.  Here are my tips to vamping up your boxed brownies to make them melt-in-your-mouth fudgey.

1. I prefer to use the 13x9in family size package, because I am a piggy for brownies, and so is the artist.  And I can usually find coupons for them as well.  The directions usually say to add water, but I replace the water with milk.  Both 1% and 2% have worked for me with no noticeable difference between the two.  And I hold the measuring cup over the mixing bowl and let it overflow a tad.

2. The directions usually say to add some oil.  Again, hold the measuring cup over the mixing bowl and let it overflow a little.  I also use canola oil versus olive oil.  Olive oil has a low smoke point, which will turn it rancid at a lower temperature.  I like to use olive oil “raw”, like in a salad or a cold dish.  Canola oil is also generally cheaper.  I have never tried subbing it for butter or another fat, so I can’t vouch for those.  But if you experiment, let me know how it goes!

3. The 13x9in family size usually includes 2 eggs in the recipe.  Do not use only one egg, use two. 4. Mix carefully and gently with a whisk, until just mixed.  Mixing too much and/or too fast whips too much air into the batter and they get way too fluffy.  These tips are for fudgey, gooey brownies 🙂

4. Grease the pan generously with salted butter and pour the batter in.  Bake at 350 F for less time then it says on the package.  Check at 15 minutes, and again at 20.  The goal is to take them out as soon as an inserted toothpick comes out clean, and not a minute later.  They may seem a little underdone in the middle when looking at it, but after approx. 23 minutes ours were perfect.  Times will vary depending on your oven, but the idea is to take it out right as soon as the toothpick comes out clean.  When we check at 15 minutes and 20 minutes, it comes out wet.  And then at 23-ish minutes it comes out clean.  They will continue to cook for a few minutes after you take them out until they are cooled.

When served with ice cream and caramel drizzle, it’s heavenly.  The edges are a bit crispy, combined with the gooiest middle…..yum!

DSCN4657 DSCN4658 DSCN4659

Leave a Reply

